

Board of Directors

Forest Mahan Board Chair

Jesus Mancilla Vice Chair

Charlie Hansen Treasurer

Steve Sheetz Immediate Past Chair

Jeff Allender James Angelos Sally Bartelmo Dean Campbell Paul Cloessner Musa Danjaji Mark Davis Alan Dobson Susie Ferrara Ihiyaun Freeman-Pollard Michele Harmon Joyce Hopperton Fred Humes Natalia Iohnson J. Scott Kirk Kenny Lee Joel Leopard Karl Lutterloh Jesus Mancilla Scott McKay Nick Miller Lindsey MonBarren Chuck Munns Aherial Polite Booboo Roberts Azi Samadi Iohn Veldman Tim Worrell

Executive Director

Dr. Allison Hamilton Molnar

CNTA

1204 Whiskey Road Suite B Aiken, SC 29803 803/649-3456

CNTA@bellsouth.net office@cntaware.org

www.cntaware.org

May 28, 2024

Citizens for Nuclear Technology Awareness (CNTA) invites you to nominate a person for our 2024 Fred C. Davidson Distinguished Scientist Award. CNTA's primary mission is education on nuclear technologies. It is a citizens group formed in 1991 and consists of over 400 members with 20 corporate/business sponsors. Many members are experts in various aspects of nuclear technology.

The Award honors outstanding achievements in physical, biological, ecological, environmental, mathematical or engineering sciences that have been accomplished in support of nuclear technologies such as nuclear medicine, food irradiation, nuclear power, U.S. weapons programs, environmental remediation, and radioecology. Some measures of outstanding achievement include publications, awards, prizes, patents, national committee appointments, and other honors. Most past awards have been made to senior scientists and engineers who are not primarily managers. Details on the award and a link to previous winners is available at: https://cntaware.org/distinguished-scientist-award/.

Eligibility requirements for candidates are:

- Candidates residence should be or should have been in Georgia or South Carolina, at the time of the accomplishment(s),
- Accomplishment(s) must either have ties to SRS or provide significant benefit to the region. The candidate does not have to currently be or have been an SRS employee,
- Accomplishment(s) could include multiple accomplishments over a long period of time or a single truly outstanding accomplishment, and
- Candidates can be actively working or retired.

Each nomination should be made by letter that summarizes the candidate's accomplishments. Any complete nomination packet should also include:

- A curriculum vita or resume
- A bibliography of no more than 10 significant publications, technical reports etc.
- Several letters from colleagues supporting the nomination
- A summary statement giving the total number and type of publications, patents, technical reports, awards etc. can also be included (but is not required)

The entire nomination packet should be no more than 10 pages long to be considered by the committee. Nominations longer than 10 pages or missing any of the above required pieces will be returned to the submitter for reducing the pages to the maximum of 10 pages before being sent to the selection committee.

The Award was presented last year at the Edward Teller Lecture. Dr. Teller presented the first Lecture in 1992 and subsequent speakers have been outstanding individuals in nuclear fields. We are planning to recognize the winner during our 2024 Teller Lecture (details TBA) in Aiken SC.

Nominations should be sent to me in care of CNTA, 1204 Whiskey Rd, Suite B, Aiken, SC 29803. Nominations and supporting documents may also be emailed to office@cntaware.org; cnta@bellsouth.net before the due date of July 31, 2024.

Thank you for your assistance in this program that was initiated by CNTA to provide additional recognition of the important contributions to nuclear technologies.

Sincerely,

Dr Carol Jantzen
Chair, CNTA Committee

Dr. Allison Hamilton

Executive Director