

## Board of Directors

Steve Sheetz Board Chair

Forest Mahan Vice Chair

Charlie Hansen Treasurer

Daren Timmons Immediate Past Chair

Jeff Allender James Angelos Sally Bartelmo Dean Campbell Wyatt Clark Paul Cloessner Musa Danjaji Mark Davis Alan Dobson Susie Ferrara Jhivaun Freeman-Pollard Michele Harmon Joyce Hopperton Fred Humes Natalia Johnson J. Scott Kirk Joel Leopard Karl Lutterloh Jesus Mancilla Nick Miller Lindsev MonBarren Chuck Munns Aherial Polite Booboo Roberts Azi Samadi John Veldman Tim Worrell

## **Executive Director**

Dr. James Marra

## **CNTA**

1204 Whiskey Road Suite B Aiken, SC 29803 803/649-3456

<u>CNTA@bellsouth.net</u> <u>office@cntaware.org</u>

www.cntaware.org

Date: June 7, 2023

Citizens for Nuclear Technology Awareness (CNTA) invites you to nominate a person for our 2023 Nuclear Service Award. CNTA's primary mission is education on nuclear technologies. It is a citizens group formed in 1991 and consists of over 400 members with 20 corporate/business sponsors. Many members are experts in various aspects of nuclear technology.

This award was started in 2019 to recognize a person who has made significant contributions in the advancement of nuclear. Past winners include Dr. Susan Wood and Dr. Melvin (Mel) Buckner. The award has a very broad reach with all-inclusive consideration outside of traditional scholarly, academic nuclear science and technology, to include non-technical fields. Areas of considerations are many, including but not limited to education, training, management, leadership, applied engineering, medicine, energy, health protection, public relations, journalism, communications, safety, environmental impact and remediation, national security, and workforce development.

Eligibility requirements for candidates are:

- Candidate residence preferably should be or should have been in the Southeast region, defined as Georgia or South Carolina, at the time of the accomplishment(s)
- The award emphasizes recognition of accomplishment(s) benefiting, or having an impact on, the CSRA
- Accomplishment(s) could include sustained contribution over an extended period of time, or a single outstanding accomplishment
- Candidate can be either actively employed or retired
- There are no education or degree requirements

Each nomination should be made by letter that summarizes the candidate's accomplishments. Any complete nomination packet should also include at least two letters supporting the nomination from individuals knowledgeable of the candidate and the accomplishments.

The entire nomination packet should be no more than 10 pages long to be considered by the committee. Nominations longer than 10 pages or missing any of the above required pieces will be returned to the submitter for reducing the pages to the maximum of 10 pages before being sent to the selection committee.

The Award is traditionally presented at the Edward Teller Lecture. Dr. Teller presented the first Lecture in 1992 and subsequent speakers have been outstanding individuals in nuclear fields. We are planning to recognize the winner during our 2023 Teller Lecture. Details will be finalized soon.

Nominations should be sent to CNTA, 1204 Whiskey Rd, Suite B, Aiken, SC 29803. Nominations and supporting documents may also be emailed to cnta@bellsouth.net before the due date of July 31, 2023.

As this is a newer award, please let us know if you have questions, or are unsure whether you should nominate someone. I have attached a more complete description of the award to provide further guidance. Information on the award, and previous winners, can be found on our website at: <a href="https://cntaware.org/nuclear-service-award/">https://cntaware.org/nuclear-service-award/</a>.

Sincerely,

Paul Cloessner

Jim Marra

**Chair, CNTA Committee** 

**CNTA Executive Director** 

Attached: CNTA Nuclear Service Award Description