## CITIZENS FOR NUCLEAR TECHNOLOGY AWARENESS

1204 Whiskey Road, Suite B, Aiken, SC 29803 (803) 649-3456 / www.cntaware.org

Contact: Dr. James C. Marra

(803) 649-3456

January 10, 2022 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## **CNTA Welcomes New Board Members**

Dr. James Marra, the Executive Director of Citizens for Nuclear Technology Awareness (CNTA), is pleased to announce the election of new members to the CNTA Board of Directors for 2022-2023.

Joel Leopard is the Communications Coordinator at the Vogtle Energy Education Center in Waynesboro, Georgia. He has 14 years of experience in external and internal communications within the nuclear industry. After six years with Shaw AREVA MOX Services in support of the MOX Fuel Fabrication Facility at the Savannah River Site (SRS), Leopard joined Southern Nuclear at Plant Vogtle in 2013. At Plant Vogtle, he provides public relations and educational leadership on behalf of Southern Nuclear, Georgia Power, and the plant's co-owners. In addition, he is involved with video, photographic, and graphic design production, emergency preparedness communications, and employee communications.

Lindsey MonBarren is a Principal Communications Specialist with the Environmental Management Operations Department at Savannah River Nuclear Solutions (SRNS). She has 15 years of experience in corporate communications, including service as a Public Information Officer with the South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control before coming to SRS. In addition, she was a Joint Information Center Specialist with the SRS Emergency Response Organization. MonBarren has a BA in Communications from Berry College. Her leadership roles include service as past president of the SRS Women in Nuclear organization, Chair of the CNTA Communications Committee, and a member of the Leadership North Augusta Class of 2017.

**Aherial Polite** is the Department Chair of Chemistry, Physics, and Nuclear Science at Aiken Technical College (ATC). Prior to joining ATC's faculty in 2018, she taught high school chemistry and physics for four years and worked in the University of South Carolina (UofSC) chemistry laboratory. Polite has a BS in Chemistry and a MA in Teaching Chemistry from UofSC Columbia. In addition, she interned at SRNS. She is currently pursuing her Ed.D. in Higher Education Leadership at Valdosta State University.

**Tim Worrell** is the Quality Assurance Manager for Merrick. Previously, he was a nuclear test engineer at the Charleston Naval Shipyard and a Systems Engineer at the Salem Nuclear Power Station before joining the Westinghouse Savannah River Company in 1989. His experience includes nuclear engineering, testing, maintenance, operations, and quality assurance on nuclear submarines, in commercial nuclear power plants, and in National Nuclear Security Administration and Department of

Energy programs. Worrell retired from SRNS in 2020. He has a BS in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Alabama. In addition, he holds a Master of Divinity and Doctor of Ministry degree.

CNTA also welcomes new board chair Steve Sheetz. He retired from SRNL in 2015 and is now providing consulting services on tritium and pit production programs for SRNL. He has also been providing strategic planning support to domestic advanced nuclear reactor teams. Steve was a founding member of CNTA and is excited to serve CNTA as the new board chair. Joining Steve on the leadership team is Dr. Forest Mahan of Aiken Technical College who is the new vice-chair.

CNTA would like to thank the outgoing chair Dr. Daren Timmons for his years of service to the organization and his willingness to stay on our board of directors. CNTA also thanks non-returning board members Carol Jantzen and Matt McCoy for their dedicated support and contributions over the last several years.

CNTA is an Aiken-based charitable educational organization dedicated to providing factual information about nuclear topics and educating the public on nuclear issues. For further information, call CNTA at 803-649-3456 or e-mail at office@cntaware.org.

Caption - New 2022 CNTA Board Members